Connect with us

2020 Oscars: Chineze Anyaene, Ramsey Nouah make 12-man committee list


2020 Oscars: Chineze Anyaene, Ramsey Nouah make 12-man committee list

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) has announced a 12-man committee of Nollywood stakeholders ahead of the 2020 Academy Awards a.k.a The Oscars.

The newly constituted Nigerian Oscars Selection Committee (NOSC) comprises a mix of young and old motion pictures practitioners. The committee is headed by pioneer member, Chineze Anyaene.

Other members include Mildred Okwo, Mahmood Ali-Balogun, Ngozi Okafor, Charles Novia, Abba Makama, Bruce Ayonote, Ramsey Nouah, Chioma Ude, Shaibu Husseini, Adetokunbo “DJ Tee” Odubawo and CJ Obasi.

“We don’t take this for granted. We hope the committee fulfils its original mandate, which is to give a platform to credible Nigerian films to compete at the prestigious Academy Awards annually,” said Anyaene.

“We couldn’t make any submissions in previous years due to unavailability of qualifying films, but things are looking hopeful… and we are actively working towards having an entry this year.”

Nigeria joined 82 other countries contesting in the Foreign Language – now called ‘International Feature Film – category at the Oscars after approval and subsequent inauguration of the NOSC in February 2014.

MORE READING!  Ladies admit to lying against man they accused of rape after being dragged to court

Nollywood has, however, not presented any film for the Oscars, as the few submissions did not meet basic criteria.

The International Feature Film of the Oscars gives an opportunity to Nigerian filmmakers living in Nigeria and Diaspora for a shot at the foremost creative industry award scheme globally.

Click to comment

More in Entertainment

To Top