Connect with us

BAD OFFICIATING DENIED NIGERIA! Victory against Argentina – Drogba

2018 World-Cup

BAD OFFICIATING DENIED NIGERIA! Victory against Argentina – Drogba

Ivory Coast football legend, Didier Drogba, has said bad officiating denied Nigeria victory against Argentina in Tuesday’s match at the ongoing FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Drogba, who made this known in a chat with BBC One, said the referee favoured Argentina unjustly with the decision not to award the second penalty.

He said,

“I think it’s a bad decision from the referee not to give Nigeria a second penalty. It’s the defender’s mistake – he didn’t read the ball well.

“It’s difficult to give the penalty because it would take Argentina out of the competition.”

Recall that Argentina had a lone goal lead to the end of first half. In the second half, Nigeria players became very tasty for goals and eventually got a penalty in the 51st minute that was effectively converted by Victor Moses.

MORE READING!  UFC 246: Conor McGregor beats Donald Cerrone in 40 seconds

During the pressure on the South Americans, one of their defenders committed a handball but the referee turned down the call after the VAR confirmed a no penalty verdict.

Click to comment

More in 2018 World-Cup

Most Read

Just In

To Top