Connect with us

Joke Silva, Eddie Ugbomah, others get Movie Rock of Fame awards

Joke Silva


Joke Silva, Eddie Ugbomah, others get Movie Rock of Fame awards

Ace Nollywood actress, Joke Silva, and late filmmaker, Eddie Ugbomah, among others, have been honoured with the Movie Rock of Fame awards.

They were honoured on Friday night at the closing ceremony and award night of the 2019 edition of the annual ZUMA Film Festival (ZUFF) in Abuja.

Known for his 1979 classic, The Rise and Fall of Oyenusi, Ugbomah was posthumously honoured with a Rock of Fame Award for his contribution to the growth of Nollywood.

MORE READING!  Maina gave me N150m cash to buy Abuja property, his younger brother testifies

Joke and actor-filmmaker, Alex Eyengho, and other living and practising professionals were honoured with Life-Time Achievement Award.

Other honoured at the ceremony included FCT Minister, Muhammad Bello; Chief of Defence Staff, Abayomi Olanisakin; and the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele, among others.

Managing Director, Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC), Chidia Maduekwe, who was the chairman of the festival organising committee, described the honour bestowed on the thespians and stakeholders as “well-deserved”.

MORE READING!  Acting in Afolayan’s film a dream come true - Temi Otedola

According to him, the recipients – living and dead – have contributed to the exponential growth of the Nigerian movie industry.

“This is our modest attempt at appreciating the enormous contributions of these film practitioners in the Nigeria film industry and their achievements thereof.

“The labour of love and commitment to Nigeria’s development of our industry geniuses shall continually be recognised and rewarded,” he said.

The Nigerian Film Society Rock of Fame Award, now in its third year of introduction, is the highest professional recognition within the Nigeria film industry based solely on merit.

MORE READING!  Yes, I was tried, But I’ve been cleared, says Omo-Agege

Some of the recipients of the maiden edition in 2017 included late thespians Sam Loco-Efe, James Iroha, popularly known as ‘Giringori Akabogu’ and Adeyemi Afolayan, a.k.a Ade Love, father of experienced filmmaker, Kunle Afolayan.

Other past recipients include Ola Balogun, Sadiq Daba, Abdulkaraem Muhammed, Brenda Shehu among others.

Click to comment

More in Entertainment

Most Read

Just In

To Top