Connect with us


Senate adjourns plenary in honour of Osinowo


The Senate which was presided over by the Deputy President of the Senate, Ovie Omo-Agege on Tuesday held a minute silence in honour of Senator representing Lagos East in the National Assembly, Senator Adebayo Sikiru Osinowo.

The upper chamber which was presided over by the Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege, thereafter, adjourned plenary till Wednesday, July 1, 2020.

MORE READING!  I spoke with Arotile few hours before her death, says father of late female pilot

The adjournment was in accordance with its practice in the event where the national assembly loses a legislator in either chamber of the National legislative houses.

The Senate on Tuesday resumed after two weeks break during which it lost a Senator representing, Lagos East Senatorial District, late Senator Adebayo Osinowo.

The lawmaker died on June 15, 2020, following a brief illness at the age of 64.

MORE READING!  FG set to ban some countries from entering Nigeria due to Covid-19

The motion for adjournment was moved by the Senate Leader, Yahaya Abdullahi (APC – Kebbi North), immediately after the adoption of the Votes and Proceedings by the Senate.

“In accordance with our tradition, I hereby move that the Senate observe a minute silence, adjourn plenary in his honour and suspend all legislative activities till Wednesday, the 1st of July, 2020”, Yahaya Abdullahi moved.

The motion for adjournment was seconded by the Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP – Abia South).

MORE READING!  Nigeria's population to overtake China's by 2100 - Study



Why 602 repentant Boko Haram members swore oath- Military



The Nigerian military on Thursday explained why 602 repentant Boko Haram members swore oath of allegiance to Nigeria.

Coordinator, Defence Media Operations, Maj.-Gen. John Enenche, spoke at a news conference in Abuja.

He recalled that the former insurgents underwent De-radicalisation, Rehabilitation and Re-Integration (DRR) programme by Operation SAFE CORRIDOR.

Enenche said they completed DRR programme at Malam Sidi Camp and took the Oath before an 11 member quasi-judicial panel.

MORE READING!  Police nab two kidnappers In Rivers State, recover decomposing corpse of victim

The senior officer said the “reason behind the Oath of Allegiance is to emphasize their loyalty, discipline and obedience to the Federal Republic of Nigeria and thereby making a commitment”.

The implication, he noted, was that if they commit any offence, they will forfeit “all privileges and will be liable for offence against the State”.

Continue Reading


Gabon now has first female Prime Minister



Rose Raponda was on Thursday appointed Prime Minister of Gabon, in accordance with a presidential decree read by the Secretary-General of the Presidency, Jean-Yves Teal.

Raponda has become the first woman in the country to hold the office of Prime Minister and she succeeded Julien Bekale.

On Feb. 12, 2019, Raponda was appointed Defence Minister by President Ali Bongo Ondimba, after the failed coup in January.

MORE READING!  Three Zambian lawmakers tested positive for COVID-19

She has a degree in Economics (Public Finance) from the Gabonese Institute of Economy and Finance.

The prime minister earlier served as Director-General of the Economy as well as Deputy Director-General, the Housing Bank of Gabon.

She also served as the country’s Budget Minister between February 2012 and January 2014.

Raponda was elected Mayor of the capital city, Libreville, where she represented the ruling Gabonese Democratic Party, on Jan. 26, 2014, and she served in that capacity until 2019.

MORE READING!  I spoke with Arotile few hours before her death, says father of late female pilot

The prime minister also became President of the United Cities and Local Governments, Africa.

Continue Reading


Niger Assembly sacks Majority, Deputy Minority leaders



Members of the Niger State House of Assembly have sacked the Majority and Deputy Minority leaders allegedly over issues affecting the smooth running of the House.

They are: Honorable Musa Suleiman, representing Magama constituency and Hon. Andrew Danjuma Jagaba, Munya constituency.

Raising the motion for the removal of the two lawmakers during the House plenary was Hon. Jibrin Ndagi Baba, Lavun constituency and was seconded by Hon. Mohammed Rama, Edati constituency. They said the members no longer have confidence in them.

MORE READING!  Senate urges FG to prioritize the rehabilitation of Eastern rail line

According to him,

“Having consulted with my colleagues on the issues affecting the smooth running of this House, we no longer have confidence in the House leader and deputy leader.

” I then move that the two officers be removed. And, I so move.”

The members immediately nominated Hon. Mohammed Abbah Bala, Borgu constituency as the new Majority Leader and Hon. Binta Manmman, Gurara constituency as Deputy Minority Leader of the House.

MORE READING!  I spoke with Arotile few hours before her death, says father of late female pilot
Continue Reading