Connect with us

South Africa grants Ghana visa free status, denies Nigeria

Nigerian Visa


South Africa grants Ghana visa free status, denies Nigeria

Ghana is the latest country to be granted a visa-free status by the South African government.

South Africa’s Department of Home Affairs has added Ghana to a list of seven countries whose nationals will be permitted to enter South Africa visa-free.

Nigeria was not included despite the large volume of trade between the two countries.

MORE READING!  Kate Middleton, Prince William step out in tricycle for reception in Pakistan [Photos]

South Africa announced in September 2018, that it was finalising a number of visa waiver agreements with other countries including Ghana to allow travellers to enter the country without a visa.

READ ALSO: We tore off Bafana Bafana pants in Cairo, Fani Kayode celebrates Super Eagles

According to the Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, citizens of the seven countries are able to enter South Africa without a visa.

MORE READING!  94-year-old man, who has 19 wives and 100 children, marries four more

“Tourism will soar if we relax visa requirements for entry into South Africa. We know that Tourism is very important for job creation,” he said today at a briefing in South Africa.

“Out of the 193 countries who are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries. Of these 16 are in our continent and are SADC members and 59 are from all over the world.”

MORE READING!  Are you aware bike, keke riders pay N3,000 daily to thugs, Sega asks EFCC


Click to comment

More in General

To Top