Connect with us

Updated: Femi Gbajabiamila, Ahmed Wase emerge Speaker, Deputy

Hot News

Updated: Femi Gbajabiamila, Ahmed Wase emerge Speaker, Deputy

The House of Representatives on Tuesday elected Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila (APC-Lagos), as the Speaker of the 9th House of Representatives.

Gbajabiamila was declared speaker after an election following his nomination by the former Appropriations Committee Chairman, Rep. Jibrin Abdulmumin (APC-Kano).

Omolori announced that 358 members voted, saying Gbajabiamila scored 281 votes out of 358 votes cast against Rep. Umar Bago who got 76.

MORE READING!  All forms of domestic terrorism need to come to an end in Nigeria - Shina Peller

He said that invalid vote was one and two members absent.

READ ALSO: New Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, swears in Senators-elect of the 9th Assembly

Omolori therefore, declared that Gbajabiamila was the winner.

Gbajabiamila, who was born in 1962, is a 4th term member and Majority Leader in the 8th House of Representatives.

MORE READING!  2020 budget: Cancer treatment gets N728m, say Reps

For the Deputy Speaker position, Rep. Sada Soni (APC-Katsina) nominated Rep. Ahmed Idris (APC-Plateau).

When the Clerk made an announcement for another nomination there was none and Idris was declared the Deputy Speaker.


Click to comment

More in Hot News

Most Read

Just In

To Top